The new Terminal 2 at Heathrow will open on June 4, when United Airlines will be the first airline to move in. Other airlines will gradually move into the new terminal over a period of five months.The new terminal, which will be named Terminal 2: The Queen’s Terminal, is set to be officially opened by Her Majesty The Queen on June 23.

The old Terminal 2, opened by The Queen in 1955, was demolished after 54 years of service. It was Heathrow’s first terminal, originally called the Europa Building and was designed to deal with 1.2 million passengers a year. By the time it closed in 2009 it was handling 8 million passengers a year.

Terminal 2 will host 23 Star Alliance airlines, as well as Aer Lingus, Virgin Atlantic Little Red and Germanwings.